SSM Cityscape


Long Service Recognition Awards

Long service recognition awards are presented annually to OMAA members in honour of their years of service in the role of Chief Administrative Officer or equivalent head administrator title. The first milestone year recognized is 5 years. Awards then progress in incremental years of five i.e. 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 years of service as a CAO. Service doesn't have to be continuous, nor does it have to be all in one municipality.

Members self-nominate and are recognized at one of the annual banquets during their anniversary year. CAOs receiving a 25 or 30-year service recognition award are also honoured with a presentation at their Council, if desired.

The Robert Baldwin Award

The Robert Baldwin Award is Ontario's highest award for municipal public service. Winners must demonstrate significant and lasting contributions to municipal and local government in Ontario and service to the community, the province, and the country.

The award was inspired by the achievements of Robert Baldwin, a principled political figure active in the mid-1800s. Baldwin embodied the values of OMAA. He wrote the first Municipal Act, supported religious tolerance and women's rights, was one of the first proponents of a bi-cultural nation and popularized the idea of "responsible government".

The Robert Baldwin Award is presented when suitable candidates are identified. Nominations are accepted by the Awards Committee, with the name of the selected candidate tabled for Board approval.

Past Robert Baldwin Award winners are:

  • Tim Dobbie - 2016
  • John Burke - 2011
  • Hazel McCallion - 2008
  • W. Michael Fenn - 2006
  • John E. Fleming - 2004
  • Michael Smither - 2002
  • Hugh Thomas - 2001
  • Thomas Plunkett - 2000
  • Richard Tindal - 1998
  • Bob Foulds - 1997
  • Alan O'Brien - 1996
  • C.T. (Cy) Armstrong - 1995
  • Bedford Ball - 1994

Honourary Membership

OMAA has been served well by the following individuals who have contributed so much to the success of the Association that they have been awarded with Honourary Membership status.

  • Bryan Baxter
  • Merv Beckstead
  • Tim Dobbie
  • Michael Fenn
  • John Fleming
  • Bob Foulds
  • Lyle Love
  • Ken Needham
  • Bill Rice
  • Milt Sather
  • Hugh Thomas
  • Virginia West