OMAA Bursary Program

East Gwillimbury Silk Twist Trail Bridge

The Maureen McCauley Bursary 

OMAA established a Bursary program in 2015. It was renamed after former OMAA Executive Director Maureen McCauley, the primary driver of its creation, by the Board of Directors in 2023. The Maureen McCauley Bursary offers $5,000 annually to support the education of future municipal government leaders and to:

  • Raise the profile regarding the benefits of municipal careers
  • Promote the profession of CAO
  • Provide an opportunity for OMAA Members to assist students interested in a local government future with the financing of their schooling

The opportunity for this Bursary is available to any student in a post secondary program meeting the following criteria:

  • Is a student residing in Ontario 
  • Has completed at least one year of an Ontario university or an Ontario community college program that has the potential to lead to a municipal government career.
  • Has submitted a completed Application Form accompanied by the noted requirements before end of day September 30

Selection Process

Applicants must provide the following before end of day September 30:

  1. A complete Application Form
  2. A detailed resume
  3. A 2-3 minute video describing the significance of municipal government service delivery and the value of professional management from your personal point of view.
  4. Proof of successful completion of at least one year of post-secondary study 

The Awards Committee will assess all submissions under approved evaluation criteria. The candidate with the highest aggregate score will be declared the winner.

The successful candidate will be advised of their award in October. Bursary funds will be made available to the successful applicant shortly thereafter. Although not mandatory, successful candidates will be invited to attend the OMAA Fall Workshop virtually or in person to receive their bursary award.

2023 OMAA Bursary Award Recipient

Gracee Zagordo

Coverage of Gracee's win in Soo Today

2022 OMAA Bursary Award Recipient

Aiden Kennard

2019 OMAA Bursary Award Recipient

Matthew Kelley

2018 OMAA Bursary Award Recipient

Sydney Martin

2017 OMAA Bursary Award Recipient

Emily Frauts